1 done, 99 recipes to go: Welcome to Pastels and Pineapples

IMG_0856IMG_0861IMG_0867IMG_0868IMG_0870IMG_0874IMG_0882IMG_0888IMG_0900IMG_0905IMG_0911IMG_0914IMG_0917IMG_0922IMG_0926IMG_0928IMG_0931IMG_0937IMG_0941IMG_0942

Here’s the deal: 365 days, 100 recipes – baking my way through Tanya Burr’s „Tanya Bakes“. To start off my project, I tried myself on a rather easy recipe: Blueberry Muffins. I mean, let’s be honest. Berries are one of the best things about summer. And combined in a sweet treat – yum!

All you need for this recipe are self-raising flour, brown sugar, an egg, buttermilk, vegetable oil and – most importantly – blueberries. And you’re good to go. Since I’m not a skilled baker/cooker and since I have hardly any access to British grocery goods, I can relate to and held those who want to recreate Tanya’s delish recipes, but struggle with getting the right ingredients. Having said this, it’s probably pretty impossible that my pictures will match those in the cookbook. But that’s reality … aaaaand I’m not the best at baking, but I LOVE IT!

Making the blueberry muffins was quick, easy and perfect for summertime. As I pulled them out of the oven, I was super excited since they looked incredibly yummy. The only thing I found to be difficult about the muffins was getting them out of the muffin paper cups, because they were sticking to the side and bottom. Result: having half a muffin to eat… but hey-ho! Also, I was expecting them to be sweeter. This can result from the recipe, of the ingredients being different than in the UK or my lack of baking skills. But the blueberries and a glass of cold milk really helped making them pretty delish.

I don’t know about you, but I’m SO excited about this project. What’s better than sugary, chocolatey goodies all year around?

xoxo Marie

Next up: Lemon Slices

 

Kommentar verfassen

